Site Content

In 1966, Great Plains was formed with Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and North Dakota. Texas formed its own affiliate (TACAC) in October of 1979. In the Spring of 1993, North Dakota and South Dakota formed their own affiliate. GPACAC is now comprised of members and member institutions in Kansas, Nebraska, and Oklahoma, as well as affiliate members who work with students in our tri-state region.

GPACAC Past Presidents
GPACAC Award Recipients


What is GPACAC?

Great Plains Association for College Admission Counseling, GPACAC (juh-pack'-ack) n. [slang for the acronym] 1. an organization of professionals dedicated to serving students as they explore options and make choices about post-secondary education 2. a three-state/regional organization serving high school counselors and college admission professionals in the states of Kansas, Nebraska and Oklahoma 3. a group dedicated to encouraging, advocating and facilitating equal access to post-secondary education and fostering communication among college-bound students, families and institutions 4. school professionals committed to maintaining high standards which foster ethical and social responsibility among those involved in the secondary school to college transition process.


The Great Plains ACAC offers tools and resources to help members stay current on the college admissions landscape, including:
  • Professional Development
  • Newsletters and Resources
  • College Fairs (held each spring in Metro areas)
  • Grant opportunities for special projects
  • Student Scholarships

Membership fee is only $15 per calendar year. Renew by December 31, 2018 for 2019 membership. If you have any questions about membership, please e-mail Jennifer McClendon at [email protected].

Join Today

[email protected]

GPACAC supports NACAC statement to recommit to integrity

As professionals, working daily with students as they access higher education, we found the news this week troubling.  Great Plains Association for College Admission Counseling (GPACAC) supports the statement below that the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) provided to the media in response to the college admission scandal. 

Read the full letter


Government Relations Highlights

Here's a quick update of the election results within our region and a little bit of insight as to how this may affect education in our states. Highlights provided by the GPACAC Government Relations Chair, Aaron Hamilton.

Read the full letter


Professional Development Blog

We all know that preparing for college is more than just academics and testing. Being emotionally ready creates the greatest opportunity for success. That being said, the Jed Foundation is a fantastic resource to teens, adults, families, communities, and schools.

Read the blog


APRIL 7–9, 2019 in Omaha, Nebraska

View the official conference website. 

Welcome, College Representatives!

The Great Plains Association for College Admission Counseling (GPACAC) looks forward to seeing you this Spring! Join us for our annual College Fairs in Kansas and Oklahoma.
Tulsa Fair
     6:00 - 7:30 p.m. 
     Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Jenks High School
205 E B St, Jenks OK 74037
Coordinator: Megan Zorch, [email protected]

     Wichita Fair
     6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
     Wednesday, April 3, 2019
     Wichita Collegiate School
     1221 N. Webb Rd., Wichita, KS 67206
Coordinator: Annette Shamas, [email protected]

Overland Park Fair
      6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
     Thursday, April 4, 2019
     Blue Valley Recreation Center at Hilltop
      7720 W 143rd St, Overland Park, KS 66223
Coordinator: Tara Lebar, [email protected]

1 College Fair - $200 Member / $250 Non-Member
2 College Fairs - $400 Member / $450 Non-Member 
3 College Fairs - $450 Member / $500 Non-Member 
1 College Fair - $250 Member / $300 Non-Member
2 College Fairs - $450 Member / $500 Non-Member 
3 College Fairs - $500 Member / $575 Non-Member 
Online registration preferred by Friday, March 29, 2019.
Registrations received after this date will be based on space availability.
Online: Paypal or Credit Card (VISA, Mastercard, Discover) 
By check to:  GPACAC | College Fairs  P.O. Box 9274 Shawnee Mission, KS  66201
Before registering, please view our GPACAC Regional College Fair Regulations.

If your institution requires additional information prior to supplying payment, please contact GPACAC Executive Assistant, Debbie Kremers at [email protected]. Registration is open to all post-secondary educational institutions and post-secondary education associated departments.  Refunds will not be available for institutions canceling within 2 weeks of a given college fair. 

GPACAC Presidents:

2016-2017 - Karen Chen, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
2015-2016 - Tara Lebar, Blue Valley West High School, Overland Park, KS
2014-2015 - Stephanie Gardner, Choctaw Nation/Shane Stover, University of Nebrasks-Kearny, NE
2013-2014 - Shane Stover, University of Nebraska-Kearny, NE
2012-2013:  Tom Hult, Blue Valley Southwest High School, Overland Park, KS
2011-2012Michelle Lockhart, Oklahoma City University/Ann Herbener, Papillion-LaVista High School
2010-2011 - Ann Herbener, Papillion-LaVista High School, NE
2009-2010 - Debi Hudson, St. Teresa's Academy, MO
2008-2009 - Barb Adkins, University of Tulsa, OK
2007-2008 - David Burge, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, NE

2006-2007 - Mary Catherine Newman, Rockhurst High School, MO
2005-2006 - Eileen Kenney, Oklahoma State University
2004-2005 - Cathy Andrus, Omaha South High School, NE
2003-2004 - Loralee Stevens, Johnson County Community College, KS
2002-2003 - Maureen Lawler, Bishop Kelley High School, OK
2001-2002 - Linc Morris, University of Nebraska-Omaha, NE
2000-2001 - Kristin Vaughn, Holland Hall, OK

1999-2000 - Brenda Hicks, Southwestern College, KS
1998-1999 - Laura Prather, Pittsburg State University, KS
1997-1998 - Kathy Housh, Jenks High School
, OK
1996-1997 - Terry Babbitt, University of Oklahoma

1995-1996 - Lisa Oliver, Cascia Hall
School, OK

1994-1995 - John Haynes, Baker University, KS
1993-1994 - Anna Milligan, Holland Hall School, OK
1992-1993 - Greg Moore, Washburn University, KS
1991-1992 - Wayne Fowler, Millard North High School, NE
1990-1991 - Glenn Lygrisse, Wichita State University, KS
1989-1990 - Kathryn Simon, Brownell-Talbot High School, NE

1988-1989 - John Flemming, University of Nebraska-Omaha, NE
1987-1988 - Lori Adams, University of Tulsa, OK


More Articles...
<< first < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next > last >>

Page 15 of 16